Use these online resources to find articles and other kinds of information on different topics.
Manchester City Library card and PIN number required unless otherwise stated.
The Premier Job Search, Reference, and Mailing List Database. The database includes 2.3 million job listings, 30 million business & executive profiles, 1.1 million healthcare professionals, and much more. Ideal for sales leads, mailing lists, market research, employment opportunities, finding friends and relatives, and much more!
- Business Source Premier
The industry's most widely used business research database, Business Source Premier features full text and searchable cited references for top journals covering a variety of business disciplines. Topics include accounting, finance, economics, marketing, management, management information systems and operations management.
- Ancestry Library Edition
UPDATE 3/26/20. ProQuest has made Ancestry Library Edition temporarily available to remote users. You don't have to be in the library to use this resource during the COVID-19 pandemic. Search U.S Census information as well as birth, marriage, death, and U.S. Military Records; the U.S. Immigration Collection, the U.K. Census Collection and more.
- Heritage Quest Genealogy Online
This genealogy database provides: complete information from the US Federal Census Records from 1790-1940; information from more than 25,000 family and local history books; an index to many local history and genealogy periodicals published since 1800, and selected records from the Revolutionary War Era Pension and Bounty-Land Warrant Application Files.
General Research and Discovery
- Explora (an EBSCO experience)
Explore arts and literature, biography, business, current events, geography, history, science and mathematics and more. Sources include books, magazine articles, and even video.
- Explora for Children
- Explora for Students
- EBSCO Publishing
For researchers accustomed to searching EBSCO databases, this tradtional interface is an alternative to the Explora interface offered above. Includes general interest magazine articles, scholarly journal articles, health information, business information, online newspapers, reference texts, magazines for children, the Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia, and information for educators.
GALE CENGAGE Learning
If you're looking for additional digital content to enhance your child’s at-home instruction, Gale is now providing open access to the below interdisciplinary, curriculum-aligned resources that support online learning from pre-K through undergraduate.
Miss Humblebee's Academy is an interactive kindergarten-readiness program that introduces children ages three to six to key concepts in math, science, social studies, language and literacy, art, and music. It’s as challenging as it is fun!
Kids InfoBits introduces elementary schoolers to database searching with easy-to-use resources featuring age-appropriate, reliable, curriculum-related content covering a broad range of educational topics.
Gale In Context: Middle School combines reference content with age-appropriate videos, newspapers, magazines, primary sources, and more.
Gale In Context: High School supports student papers, projects, and presentations while empowering the development of critical thinking and problem-solving skills with content aligned to national and state curriculum standards.
Gale In Context: College offers interdisciplinary content that reinforces the development of skills such as critical thinking, problem-solving, communication, collaboration, creativity, and innovation.
Gale In Context: Canada is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on a broad range of Canadian topics, people, places, and events.
Teen Resource Center was created to provide today’s information-hungry teenagers with the practical reference content they crave. Engaging, easy-to-access topics are grouped into the three broad areas of Health, Financial Literacy and Personal Growth. In addition to authoritative coverage of the top issues facing teens today, the Teen Resource Center serves up links to support groups, hotlines and more, plus a searchable database of frequently asked questions complete with helpful, real-world answers. Password: health
- Consumer Health Complete
Consumer Health Complete supports the information needs of patients and fosters an overall understanding of health-related topics. This resource provides content covering all key areas of health and wellness, from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary and holistic medicine. Topics include aging, cancer, diabetes, drugs and alcohol, fitness, nutrition and dietetics.
- MedLine Plus
MedlinePlus is an online health information resource for patients and their families and friends. It is a service of the National Library of Medicine (NLM), the world's largest medical library, and a part of the National Institutes of Health (NIH).
- MedLine Plus en Español
MedlinePlus es un servicio informativo de salud para pacientes, familiares y amigos. Es producido por la Biblioteca Nacional de Medicina de Estados Unidos (NLM, por sus siglas en inglés), la biblioteca médica más grande del mundo y parte de los Institutos Nacionales de la Salud de EE. UU. (NIH, por sus siglas en inglés).
- Salud en Español
Salud en Español provee reportes completos basados en evidencias y fichas de datos relacionados a todos los aspectos de la salud y el bienestar. Reportes específicos por tema que cubren todos los aspectos de la salud, dan información general importante en relación a enfermedades, afecciones y procedimientos de diversos tratamientos.
Health Reference Series Online provides basic medical information for patients, families, caregivers, and the general public. This is especially important for people who may be dealing with a newly diagnosed disease or a chronic disorder in themselves or in a family member. People looking for preventive guidance, information about disease warning signs, medical statistics, and risk factors for health problems will also find answers to their questions in this series. Password: health
- Transparent Language
Study one of 100 different languages, including ESL, right on your PC, laptop or mobile device using Transparent Language. Practice all four language skills: listening, speaking, reading, and writing. In addition to online lessons, conversation practice and games you’ll be able to connect with fellow language learners in Transparent Language’s online communities.
Note: You will need to provide a first name and e-mail address to Transparent Language to begin using this service.
Newspapers & Magazines
- New Hampshire Newpapers
NewsBank carries issues of the New Hampshire Union Leader from January 1st, 1989 to today. Paid advertisements (including many obituaries) are not included.
- RBdigital Magazine Value Collection (formerly Zinio for Libraries)
RBdigital Magazine Value Collection, the world's largest newsstand, offers full-color digital magazines for anytime, anywhere reading on desktops, mobile devices, and apps. Your library's collection of popular digital magazines includes both new and backlist titles with no holds, no checkout periods, and no limits.
Note: You will need to create an RBdigital account before logging in to the service. Your account will include your library card number, an e-mail address, and a password of your choosing. This password is separate from the password/PIN you use to log in to your library account in our catalog.
- Miss Humblebee's Academy is an interactive kindergarten-readiness program that introduces children ages three to six to key concepts in math, science, social studies, language and literacy, art, and music. It's as challenging as it is fun!
- Kids InfoBits introduces elementary schoolers to database searching with easy-to-use resources featuring age-appropriate, reliable, curriculum-related content covering a broad range of educational topics.
- Gale In Context: High School supports student papers, projects, and presentations while empowering the development of critical thinking and problem-solving skills with content aligned to national and state curriculum standards.
- Gale In Context: College offers interdisciplinary content that reinforces the development of skills such as critical thinking, problem-solving, communication, collaboration, creativity, and innovation.
- Gale In Context: Canada is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on a broad range of Canadian topics, peopple, places, and events.
Readers' Advisory, or Help Me Choose My Next Book!
- NoveList Plus
NoveList allows fiction and nonfiction readers to use a favorite author, title, topic, or genre (for example mystery, science fiction, or horror) to learn about other books they will enjoy reading.
- NoveList K-8 Plus
Novelist K-8 allows children in grades Kindergarten through 8 to identify fiction and nonfiction titles they will enjoy reading. This is a great database for children and parents to use together.
Tumble Book Library - K-6 children's ebook database
And there’s more! The next four resources from Tumble all use the same username and password:
Tumble Math - K-6 math ebook database
Teen Book Cloud - gr 7-12 ebook database
Audio Book Cloud - all ages audiobook database
Romance Book Cloud - a huge collection of steamy Romance novels for the older crowd!
Prepare for your driver's license test with one or more practice driving tests, including motorcycle and Commercial Driver's License (CDL) practice tests. Download copies of the State of New Hampshire's Driver's Manual as well. No library card required! Note: Driving-Tests.org is a part of Elegant E-Learning, Inc., and not associated with or endorsed by the NH Department of Motor Vehicles.